linux/Documentation/input/bcm5974.txt
<<
>>
Prefs
   1BCM5974 Driver (bcm5974)
   2------------------------
   3        Copyright (C) 2008-2009 Henrik Rydberg <rydberg@euromail.se>
   4
   5The USB initialization and package decoding was made by Scott Shawcroft as
   6part of the touchd user-space driver project:
   7        Copyright (C) 2008      Scott Shawcroft (scott.shawcroft@gmail.com)
   8
   9The BCM5974 driver is based on the appletouch driver:
  10        Copyright (C) 2001-2004 Greg Kroah-Hartman (greg@kroah.com)
  11        Copyright (C) 2005      Johannes Berg (johannes@sipsolutions.net)
  12        Copyright (C) 2005      Stelian Pop (stelian@popies.net)
  13        Copyright (C) 2005      Frank Arnold (frank@scirocco-5v-turbo.de)
  14        Copyright (C) 2005      Peter Osterlund (petero2@telia.com)
  15        Copyright (C) 2005      Michael Hanselmann (linux-kernel@hansmi.ch)
  16        Copyright (C) 2006      Nicolas Boichat (nicolas@boichat.ch)
  17
  18This driver adds support for the multi-touch trackpad on the new Apple
  19Macbook Air and Macbook Pro laptops. It replaces the appletouch driver on
  20those computers, and integrates well with the synaptics driver of the Xorg
  21system.
  22
  23Known to work on Macbook Air, Macbook Pro Penryn and the new unibody
  24Macbook 5 and Macbook Pro 5.
  25
  26Usage
  27-----
  28
  29The driver loads automatically for the supported usb device ids, and
  30becomes available both as an event device (/dev/input/event*) and as a
  31mouse via the mousedev driver (/dev/input/mice).
  32
  33USB Race
  34--------
  35
  36The Apple multi-touch trackpads report both mouse and keyboard events via
  37different interfaces of the same usb device. This creates a race condition
  38with the HID driver, which, if not told otherwise, will find the standard
  39HID mouse and keyboard, and claim the whole device. To remedy, the usb
  40product id must be listed in the mouse_ignore list of the hid driver.
  41
  42Debug output
  43------------
  44
  45To ease the development for new hardware version, verbose packet output can
  46be switched on with the debug kernel module parameter. The range [1-9]
  47yields different levels of verbosity. Example (as root):
  48
  49echo -n 9 > /sys/module/bcm5974/parameters/debug
  50
  51tail -f /var/log/debug
  52
  53echo -n 0 > /sys/module/bcm5974/parameters/debug
  54
  55Trivia
  56------
  57
  58The driver was developed at the ubuntu forums in June 2008 [1], and now has
  59a more permanent home at bitmath.org [2].
  60
  61Links
  62-----
  63
  64[1] http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=840040
  65[2] http://bitmath.org/code/
  66
lxr.linux.no kindly hosted by Redpill Linpro AS, provider of Linux consulting and operations services since 1995.